As you can see from my son’s attire in the picture above, we’ve had a pretty laid back summer. Part of my letting go of control this summer has been letting the boys choose their own clothes every day (except Sunday, I still rule on Sundays). That’s why he has this used up light stick necklace creation going on. That being said, we have pretty much our only scheduled “summer thing” this week and next: daily swimming lessons. For that reason, and the fact that I’ve been watching another little girl a few days a week (who’s an absolute doll), the last thing I wanted to do this week was to do a cooking lesson. But I also wanted to keep my commitment, so we decided to double up: The ninjas make chocolate chip cookies, and I have a snack for our home group. I think they call that “boo-ya.”

Normally, we’d want to try something just a little more challenging than cookies, but we inadvertently learned two valuable lessons from this week’s challenge: 1) Don’t let mommy cook when she’s exhausted and 2) Mistakes are learning experiences in themselves.

I will tell you right now… these cookies are the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever had. I found this recipe a year or so ago, and it immediately replaced every other chocolate chip cookie recipe I’ve ever even thought about making. This recipe is from Host the Toast and you will want to go there right now, pin it, print it, tweet it….(that’s the wealth of my social media terminology) and then put all your other recipes right in the recycle bin.

I won’t go through the steps with you… after all, you know how to make chocolate chip cookies. What I will tell you is that apparently when I am this exhausted, I lose all ability to function in the kitchen. And yes, I had my afternoon coffee. I was guzzling it like a champ. But everything I told the ninjas to do, I told them wrong. And I kept calling them the wrong names. And I kept running into things. So many times during this process I wanted to throw in the towel, but I kept trudging on.

After carefully measuring all the dry ingredients, the boys whisked them around and then measured the sugars and cracked the eggs. For yet another adorable video, please visit our Facebook page. Everything was going smoothly, except for the fact that I told Ninja Mark to pour the white sugar not in the KitchenAid, but in with the dry ingredients.

IMG_4404
“Sorry, buddy…that was mom’s fault.”

Here’s where lesson #2 comes in… sometimes we make mistakes and we have to live with them. There’s no way I was going to waste all these ingredients, so I told them we were going to do a little experiment with these cookies. We were going to see if putting the white sugar in with the flour would still create a good cookie.

You know what? It did. I don’t think it hurt the cookies at all. I think the dough may have spread just a little more than normal, but that means a bigger cookie, and if that’s the worst problem you have in a day, then please trade lives with me.

The boys learned another important lesson from the day’s events: When mom is tired, and she gives you a cooking lesson, and is entertaining friends for home group that night, you get crackers and cheese for dinner. And cookies, of course.


Extra Credit!

We tried another of Sammi’s recipes from Grounded and Surrounded this week: Coconut Lime Energy Bites. I don’t always like dates in things, so I was a little hesitant… but we needed something healthy for a snack and these looked so easy. I picked up the FOUR ingredients I needed and whipped these up in about five minutes. The kids loved to roll them into balls for me! I’m sorry that I can’t share pictures, but they contain kids that aren’t mine so I don’t feel comfortable putting them on a public page. But these are GREAT and next time I will make a double batch for sure. My kids don’t usually get too excited about nuts so I was really excited that they liked these so much! The whole family loved them. Go protein!


Hey, friends! Due to Facebook’s increasingly frustrating algorithms, most of you who liked our Facebook page are not seeing the updates. They want me to pay for you to see them, and as I don’t make any money from this blog, that is a financial impossibility. So would you do me a favor? Would you choose to “get notifications” for our page? I promise I won’t overwhelm you and that way you won’t miss a thing. Thanks in advance!

2 thoughts on “Oops, My Bad: A Cookie Problem

  1. You crack.me.up. girl! “you will want to go there right now, pin it, print it, tweet it….(that’s the wealth of my social media terminology)”. Look at all the new blogging terms you have learned! 😉 So that chocolate chip cookie recipe…OMGosh! YUM! I can’t wait to try it. A few years ago I found an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe from Mel’s Kitchen that we LOVE so your cookies recipe sans oatmeal is sure to be a winner in our house too.

    And thank you so much for the shout out! I love that you and your family enjoyed the coconut lime energy bites. They really are amazing and I can finally get my kids to eat healthy nuts too. Otherwise, they are a no-go here. I can’t blame them, I didn’t like them until I was an adult. Thank you Lord for letting me get to an age to finally appreciate almonds. hehe

    Keep the great posts coming! When are you going to guest post for me by the way? Hint hint… 🙂

    Like

    1. You are too kind!! We just made our second batch of energy bites yesterday. My older son mentioned that they might be a really good addition to his school lunches. 😉 Yes, nuts are amazing and I do not understand why our kids don’t love them. We just have to keep sneaking them into things until they figure it out! As far as guest posting… just as soon as you explain to me what that means, I would happily oblige. 🙂 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

